Borrowing an ancient Wiepking and Co. piano, Ataraxia rearranged a collection of their finest tracks that would fit an entirely acoustic format, revisiting them in a warmer and more intimate form. This selection covers not only tracks from most of their releases, but also titles from the sold-out EPs "Orlando" and "Des Paroles Blanches", as well as two previously unreleased songs and material never before issued on CD.
CD I : Strange Lights, performed by Ataraxia
01. Strange Lights (4:40)
02. Shelmerdine (4:08) [ .mp3 excerpt ]
03. Bonthrop (5:57)
04. Tu es la Force du Silence (3:12)
05. Ophélie (5:54) [ .mp3 full track]
06. Faust in una sala maledetta (2:19)
      [ .mp3 excerpt ]
07. Seas of the Moon (3:19) [ .mp3 excerpt ]
08. Les Tisseuses Lunaires (4:05)
09. Veules Les Roses (6:05)
10. Fuga Trionfale (3:08)
11. Oduarpa (5:00)
12. Medusa (2:34)
Tracks 1 and 7 were previously unreleased; tracks 2 and 3 originally appear on “Orlando” (1998, Prikosnovenie – deleted); track 4 originally appears on “Ad Perpetuam Rei Memoriam” (1994, Apollyon); tracks 5 and 12 originally appear on “La Malediction d’Ondine” (1995, Energeia); track 6 originally appears on “Il Fantasma dell’Opera” (1996, Avantgarde); track 8 originally appears on “Arazzi” (1993, Energeia) and was never before released on CD format; track 9 originally appears on “Des Paroles Blanches” (2003, Arkadyss– deleted); track 10 originally appears on “Simphonia Sine Nomine” (1994 Energeia, 1996 Apollyon); track 11 originally appears on “Lost Atlantis” (1999, Cruel Moon International).
Ataraxia is an ensemble that, since several years, works in the balance between avant-garde and tradition, writing music, setting up performances and giving concerts consisting of several art forms like theatre, poetry, painting and dance in castles, squares, parks, concert halls, and theatres all over Europe and Latin America. We define ourselves 'craftsmen of the sound' becuase of the wild, chaotic mix of sacred and profane, early and contemporary, neoclassic and experimental kind of music we create. We feel like ‘travelling ministrels’ inspired by the inner and geographical voyages we make in places that still preserve the charge of centuries and the mistery of history. Walking along old paths and listening to the call of the stone we become a sort of ‘crossroad’ between the Mediterranean and Celtic culture. We make researches and write music about European legends, Greek and Latin myths. Our lyrics are written in several ancient and contemporary languages, we try to give a musical shape to the hidden treasures and revelations that each language owns. Contemplation, dream experiences, twilight and elegiac atmospheres, ritual movements and our memories float in the mysterious garden of Psyche and Desire where envelopping textures of notes meet the echo of acoustic and contemporary instruments. Four ministrels paint whimsical landscapes that open passages to enter far-off dimensions and enable deep emotional exchanges. We walk along a path that has its origins in very far times. The Ancient Spirits are still speaking.